Skip to main content


CCSD Students Head to College with Help from Comcast Scholarship

Three members of the Cherry Creek School District's class of 2015 will kick off their college careers with some well-earned financial assistance.

Ryan Beckett (Cherry Creek High School), Jessica Saffold (Smoky Hill High School) and Breanna Wheeler (Cherokee Trail High School) were among more than 50 students from Colorado to qualify for scholarships funds through the Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program. These three Cherry Creek School District grads each received $1,000 in funds that will go toward their college educations; that money is part of a total of $75,000 is scholarship money awarded by Comcast for the 2014-15 year.

According to officials from Comcast, the trio of CCSD students fit the profile of the student they're looking to recognize and encourage.

"Our annual scholarship program recognizes and rewards high school seniors for their academic achievement, for their commitment to their communities and for their leadership skills," said Mary Spillane, investment manager for Comcast. "These are students who have demonstrated a commitment not only to their own success, but also have been dedicated to helping others in their schools and their communities thrive as well."

Officials from the Comcast program ask students to write essays that speak to specific leadership experiences and any number of community service projects. Since 2001, the company has awarded more than $22.8 million to more than 2,000 students. The three students from the Cherry Creek School District followed in an impressive tradition that prizes community engagement as well as academic excellence, Spillane said.

"Each one of these students exemplified a commitment to their own academic accomplishments and success and also found ways to be involved in their schools and communities," Spillane said. "We were inspired by all of these students. They set a powerful example to all around them, and we're proud to invest in their education and their future."

Beckett, Saffold and Wheeler were honored during a luncheon featuring input from Gov. John Hickenlooper earlier this year, along with dozens of fellow high school seniors from Colorado. As they kick off their college careers this fall, they'll benefit from their hard work and commitment in high school.

"We can't wait to see what they do next," Spillane said.

She added that the annual scholarship program will be open to CCSD seniors during the 2015-16 school year.

Comcast has been and continues to be a valued partner with the Cherry Creek Schools Foundation.

Our Impact This Year

  • Grants Awarded to Educators


  • Students Impacted


  • Scholarships Awarded


  • Donated to Mental Health


  • JHL Constructors
  • MDC Richmond Foundation
  • Aon
  • Plante Moran
  • Butler Snow
  • 1st Bank
  • DLR Group

    DLR Group

  • Westerra Credit Union
  • Alpine Bank
  • GE Johnson
  • Saunders
  • Cuningham Architecture
  • Health One
  • CCA Foundation
  • CCA
  • ANB Bank
    ANB Bank

    ANB Bank

  • Aurora Housing Authority
    Aurora Housing Authority

    Aurora Housing Authority

  • Powered by Purpose
    Powered by Purpose

    Powered by Purpose

  • Ed and Kacy Adams
    Ed and Kacy Adams

    Ed and Kacy Adams

  • Johnson Controls
    Johnson Controls

    Johnson Controls

  • JP Morgan
    JP Morgan

    JP Morgan

  • Kaiser Permanente
    Kaiser Permanente

    Kaiser Permanente

  • The Knoll Team
    The Knoll Team

    The Knoll Team

  • Kore


  • Margie and Joe Adams
    Margie and Joe Adams

    Margie and Joe Adams

  • United Healthcare
    United Healthcare
  • CU Denver
    CU Denver
  • Westerra
© 2023 Cherry Creek Schools Foundation

Powered by Firespring