Skip to main content


Here are the winners for the Foundation's 6th Annual Cardboard Challenge

Even though we could only name 14 winners during our 6th Annual Cardboard Challenge, we were blown away by the hundreds of projects that were submitted to the competition. It was incredible seeing the creativity and authenticity that each child brought to their projects this year.

"The Cardboard Challenge is something that is inspired by a child, and so it really shows you how kids thing and how broad they think," said Cherry Creek Schools Foundation board chairman Steve Topalian. "It's an event about creativity. It's an event about letting kids be kids and just building things with whatever comes to mind and what's important to them."

Each winner earned $200 and was presented with a cardboard check. Certificates of award along with the cash price will be mailed to winners after fall break,

Thank you to all who came out, and a special thanks to our presenting sponsor Arrow Electronics and community sponsors Comcast Internet Essentials and Rocky Mountain Hospital for Children for supporting our event! And a shout out to STEAM-A-Palooza for bringing their robots. We can't wait for their huge (and free) annual event dedicated to all things STEAM Grandview High School on Nov. 10.

High school winners:

  • Bailey and Breanna Brennan, Laredo Middle School and Smoky Hill High School
  • Cara Guydish, Grandview High School
  • Andrew Nguyen, Eaglecrest High School

Middle school winners:

  • Gabe Schneider, Liberty Middle School
  • Gwen Gibson, Jamison Wenn and Joshua Wilson, Falcon Creek Middle School
  • Lina Schroeder, Campus Middle School

Elementary school winners (grades 3-5):

  • Max Hart, Fox Hollow Elementary School
  • Charlotte Ross and Teagan Hodne, High Plains Elementary School
  • Alexander Slater, Homestead Elementary School
  • Bella Jackson, Ella Sanidas and Cayla Collins, Cottonwood Creek Elementary School
  • Jason Smaling, Mariella Klawitter and Vivaan Lal, Cottonwood Creek Elementary School

Elementary school winners (K-2):

  • Julian Albin, Aspen Crossing Elementary School
  • Charlotte Karr, Aspen Crossing Elementary School
  • Makayla Lavata, Dakota Valley Elementary School

Our Impact This Year

  • Grants Awarded to Educators


  • Students Impacted


  • Scholarships Awarded


  • Donated to Mental Health


  • JHL Constructors
  • MDC Richmond Foundation
  • Aon
  • Plante
  • Butler Snow
  • 1st Bank
  • Westerra Credit Union
  • Alpine Bank
  • GE Johnson
  • Saunders
  • Stride CHC
  • Health One
  • CCA Foundation
  • CCA
  • Orchard
© 2022 Cherry Creek Schools Foundation

Powered by Firespring